President’s message: Incoming leadership team ready to meet challenges

Back to Blogs By Catherine Ducharme, IABC/BC President Posted: August 30, 2014

CatherineDucharme-200x150Attracting, retaining and engaging members is a focus for all associations, not just IABC/BC. Our environment is noisy and competitive. Time-strapped members, with unprecedented access to rich content, free webinars and casual meetups, need a compelling reason to belong to their professional association.

IABC/BC is a strong and financially sound chapter with generous sponsors and many strengths, among them a 100-person volunteer force, but the reality is we’re losing members. This new world requires our chapter to be relevant, engage people differently, and think about how we deliver value and what role we play in the professional lives of members.

Our plan this year is to be intentional about the member experience we want to deliver. We’ll focus on recruiting, retaining and engaging our members in ways that reflect our “vibrant connector” brand and brings member value.

As members you’ll see more member-only offerings, more orientations to help you make the most of your membership, and focus groups to learn how we can best serve our senior members. Our programs and events will continue to connect us as a tribe to learn and build our networks. And we’ll use many channels to keep you in the know.

This is a long-term proposition to be sure. We need to be both patient and mindful about what we can achieve but I know we have the right team to start the momentum. Please welcome the incoming IABC/BC Board of Directors:

  • Past President – Wendy Kubota, ABC
  • Vice President – Catherine Pitman
  • Treasurer – Sheryl Gray
  • Executive Administrator – Jen Knight
  • External Communications – Angie Gaddy
  • Internal Communications – Brice Dare
  • Membership Services – Ryan Paulson
  • Networking Events – Dana Higgins
  • Professional & Career Development – Linda Ong, ABC
  • Professional Standards – Nancy Painter, ABC
  • Sponsorship – Lydia Tay
  • Student Services – Theressa Mah
  • Volunteer Services – Lisa Welbourn

Catherine Ducharme
Incoming President


Comments are closed.